Darkforum.com - Dark Stories, Dark Art, Poetry, Photography, Debates and Discussions
Home Register FAQ
Go Back   Darkforum.com - Dark Stories, Dark Art, Poetry, Photography, Debates and Discussions > Welcome > Socialize
Reload this Page Birth Control

Old 06-21-03   #1
Clashing_Enigma
Wonder Woman

Clashing_Enigma
Credits: 5,229
Birth Control

Thank ya'll for checking out my thread.

I was on Depo-Provara for almost four years. In February I decided that I have had enough of menopause & that I was ready to be a normal premenopausal woman.(I am 25)

For those who don't know, Depo- Provara is a shot for birthcontrol. The doctor gives you a shot every three months. The shot contains synthetic Progesterone. Progesterone is a hormone that we ladies naturally produce all the time but in high levels when we are pregnant. The shot has quite a few side effects. This is what I have been goring through for the past four months. When you have been on Depo for a while, you no longer have a period or cramping. OTOH, when you stop getting the shot, you bleed nonstop! Not to mention, your hormones are trying to balance out during that time. When you have high progesterone levels, your estrogen levels are lower & when you decrease the progesterone & your body starts producing higher levels of estrogen again, lets just say it can be difficult to function mentally at times.

In April-May, I started to get slightly regular periods, bleed for 1 week, stop for a week, start bleeding again the following week. I had asked my doctor about going on the pill to help me get regular again & he gave me Ovcon. It has a low level of estrogen. I have been on it for 2 weeks on sunday & I haven't stopped bleeding. The only reason I started taking the damn things were so I could be normal & bleed 3-4 days once a month.